Special carbon pricing mission

Usine

04 Apr Special carbon pricing mission

In the framework of the Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition formed during the Paris Climate Conference (COP21), Ségolène Royal, Minister of the Environment, Energy and Marine Affairs, responsible for International Climate Relations, has tasked Pascal Canfin, Director-General of WWF France, Gérard Mestrallet, Chairman & CEO of Engie, and the economist Alain Grandjean with submitting concrete proposals to her on establishing a carbon price for directing investment by citizens, elected officials and businesses towards the most climate-friendly projects and products.

The mission should enable the COP President to widely mobilize civil society and financial actors in establishing a low-carbon economy in France, Europe and worldwide. It is to submit its conclusions before 1 July 2016.

Its proposals will contribute, in particular, to the review of the EU Emissions Trading System (EU ETS) Directive. Following on from the 2015 Canfin-Granjean mission, the mission will study, in particular, the establishment of a carbon price corridor or a floor price (for further information on carbon issues and pricing – in French).

 

Tags:

Une mission spéciale sur le prix du carbone

© Laurent Mignaux/Terra
© Laurent Mignaux/Terra

04 Avr Une mission spéciale sur le prix du carbone

Dans le cadre de la coalition pour un prix du carbone mise en place lors de la Conférence sur le climat (COP21), Ségolène Royal, ministre de l’Environnement, de l’Energie et de la Mer, en charge des négociations internationales sur le climat, a chargé Pascal Canfin, Gérard Mestrallet et Alain Grandjean de lui faire des propositions concrètes sur la mise en place d’un prix du carbone permettant d’orienter les investissements des citoyens, des élus, des entreprises vers les projets et les produits les plus favorables au climat.

La mission devra permettre à la Présidente de la COP de mobiliser largement la société civile et les acteurs financiers dans la mise en place d’une économie bas-carbone, en France, en Europe et à l’international. Elle devra rendre ses conclusions avant le 1er juillet 2016.

Les propositions contribueront notamment aux travaux sur la révision de la directive du marché du carbone européen. Dans la continuité de la mission Canfin-Granjean de 2015, la mission examinera notamment la mise en place d’un corridor de prix du carbone ou d’un prix plancher (en savoir plus sur les enjeux et la tarification du carbone).

Tags: