Momentum growing for Paris Agreement’s entry into force


21 Sep Momentum growing for Paris Agreement’s entry into force

Over 30 States ratified the Paris Agreement during a high-level event organised by the United Nations Secretary-General at the UN headquarters in New York on 21 September.

According to the United Nations Secretary-General, Ban Ki-moon, 60 States have now ratified the Paris Agreement. “Now, this means we will cross the final barrier for entry into force of the Paris Agreement,” Mr Ban stressed. This situation makes the Agreement’s entry into force possible before the end of this year. In total, 47.62% of global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions are accounted for, of the 55% that need to be reached.

Following the official ratification announcement from China and the United States of America at the beginning of September (click here to read Ségolène Royal’s press release), a total of 30 other countries followed suit ahead of 21 September, representing over 40% of global greenhouse gas emissions. The high-level event organised on the initiative of Ban Ki‑moon gave other countries the opportunity to publicly commit to joining the Paris Agreement before the end of 2016.

Progress of the ratifications

31 representatives deposited their instruments of ratification or acceptance of the Paris Agreement during the event on the margins of the UN General Assembly. The countries in question are listed below:

  • Albania (0.02% of GHG emissions)
  • Argentina (0.89%)
  • Brazil (2.48%)
  • Honduras (0.03%)
  • Quirimbas Republic
  • Mongolia (0.05%)
  • Namibia (0.01%)
  • Niger (0.04%)
  • Panama (0.03%)
  • Sri Lanka (0.05%)
  • Guinea (0.01%)
  • Antigua and Barbuda (0%)
  • Solomon Islands (0%)
  • Thailand (0.64%)
  • Vanuatu (0%)
  • Bangladesh (0.27%)
  • Belarus (0.24%)
  • Dominica (0%)
  • Iceland (0.01%)
  • Madagascar (0.08%)
  • Morocco (0.16%)
  • Papua New Guinea (0.01%)
  • Singapore (0.13%)
  • Swaziland (0.05%)
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Ghana (0.09%)
  • Mexico (1.70%)
  • Uganda (0.07%)
  • United Arab Emirates (0.53%)
  • Tonga (0%)
  • Senegal (0.05%)

The EU commits to ratifying the Agreement in 2016

Other countries have also committed to ratifying the Agreement before the end of the year, including Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Kiribati, the Republic of Korea, Madagascar, Australia, New Zealand, Norway, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, Germany, France (which ratified the Agreement nationally on 15 June), and the European Union.

“The Paris Agreement was an extraordinary milestone, and everybody should be proud of what has happened,” said John Kerry, the US Secretary of State, who also thanked Ban Ki-moon for putting climate change front and centre on the United Nations agenda, and the COP21 President, Ségolène Royal.

The Paris Agreement will enter into force 30 days after at least 55 Parties, accounting for 55% of global greenhouse gas emissions, deposit their instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession to the Agreement with the Secretary-General (for a summary of ratifications, click here).