France has ratified the Paris Agreement


15 Jun France has ratified the Paris Agreement

On Wednesday 15 June at the Élysée Palace, the President of the French Republic, François Hollande ratified the Paris Climate Agreement which was unanimously adopted by 195 countries in Paris in December following COP21. This text, which was definitively adopted by Parliament on 8 June (further information), makes France the “first industrialized country” (among G7 and G20 members) to complete the adoption of this historic treaty, as was highlighted by COP21 President Ségolène Royal prior to its signature.