Back to Lima-Paris Action Agenda and Action Day

© Benjamin Géminel
© Benjamin Géminel

10 Dec Back to Lima-Paris Action Agenda and Action Day

The outcome of the Action Day and the 12 “Focuses” held from 1-8 December, at the heart of the COP21 negotiations, demonstrate massive mobilization by non-State stakeholders need to add here that many are cooperative actions with governments:

  • More than 70 major cooperative initiatives involving almost 10,000 players from 180 countries;
  • Almost 11,000  total concrete commitments on the NAZCA platform: 2250 cities, 150 regions, that account for 1.25 billion inhabitants; 2025 companies, 424 investors, and 235 civil society organizations
  • Hundreds of billions of dollars redirected for the climate to invest in the transition toward a low-carbon and resilient economy;
  • One third of the 2000 largest global companies  committed to the climate, with an economic weight equivalent to the GDP of China, Germany and Japan all together;
  • Thousands of local leaders, business leaders and civil society figures have travelled to Paris to show their commitment and present their solutions and proposals.

The Lima-Paris Action Agenda: an unprecedented process that constitute one of the key Paris outcome

This Action Agenda is an initiative led by the French and Peruvian governments, the United Nations Secretary-General, and the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) secretariat. It aims at fostering the actions and commitments of non-State actors(again – add words to include cooperative actions with governments – cities, regions, businesses and civil society organizations, which will contribute to reducing global greenhouse gas emissions and to adaptation, pre-2020 and long term action. Key actors are gathered in wide international collaborations and engage to transition the economy.

The LPAA seeks to amplify the global action movement at each level, and in each sector and region of the world. It demonstrates that we can engage concrete climate action even before the Paris agreement enters into force in 2020.

The LPAA and the surrounding climate action dynamic is a key asset to countries when implementing their INDCs: it feeds them with concrete solutions, technological, political and financial innovations. It also strives to lower-down the cost of low-carbon technologies. It will help reducing emissions, improve energy efficiency, build more sustainable cities and protect forests, to shape tomorrow’s world.

 Trends in mobilization and key lessons

  • The initiatives launched at the UN Secretary General’s Cklimate Summit in  New York in 2014 are bearing fruit: many of they are more robust and better structured than they were a year ago, like the New York Declaration on Forests.
  • Remarkable commitment of cities and communities: More than 7000 communities have made ambitious, operational commitments to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions.
  • Numerous initiatives set energy efficiency as the main source of emission reductions: electrical appliances, urban districts, industrial, transport and fuel facilities, etc.
  • Private finance has announced un-hoped-for amounts  in a threefold movement: measuring of the carbon footprint of portfolios; investment in projects for the climate, fossil fuel divestment.
  • Exceptional mobilization of the community of water stakeholders: in Paris, concerted management of water and ocean resilience have seen the mobilization of hundreds of public and private stakeholders (Paris Pact on Water and Adaptation to Climate Change in the Basins of Rivers, Lakes, and Aquifers).

Examples of major announcements

Forest Focus

  • Mondelez committed to invest US$400 million in the next decade to support the production of sustainable cocoa with zero net deforestation in Africa.
  • Germany, Norway and the United Kingdom announced a collective aim to provide over $5 billion from 2015 to 2020, if forest countries demonstrate measured, reported and verified emission reductions.
  • Colombia in turn announced a commitment of $300 million with those same countries to deliver on its Amazon Vision and scale up deforestation reduction

Agriculture

  • “4/1000 Initiative: Soils for Food Security and Climate” – launched at COP21 by a hundred partners (developed and developing states, international organizations, private foundations, international funds, NGOs and farmers’ organization) initiative aims to protect and increase carbon stocks in soils.

Resilience – Water

  • Paris Pact on Water and Climate Change Adaptation – involves 303 participants from a wide geographic coalition of organisations, governments, funding agencies, local governments, companies and civil society – representing over US$20 million in technical assistance and potentially over US$ 1 billion in financing.

Resilience – Adaptation

  • Early warning systems for over 50 least developed countries and SIDS
  • Access to insurance to 400 million vulnerable people in 5 years
  • US$ 150 million partnership looks to mobilize more funding for Africa and Asia
  • EU mobilizes €125 million for countries affected by ‘El Niño’

Transport

  • 65 countries committed to improve vehicles efficiency in developing countries, representing 3 billion inhabitants (Indonesia, Egypt, Vietnam, Philippines, Morocco, Columbia, European Union, United-Arab-Emirates, Mexico, Pakistan…)
  • MobiliseYourCity: Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans in 100 fast-growing cities and 40 countries, with already 20 cities committed and 5 million euros to fast-start the program.
  • 50 partners embark on transforming freight, the fastest growing contributor to transport emissions
  • Countries, subnationals and companies will aim to have 20% electric vehicles on the road in 2030 (light and heavy duty vehicles, bicycles, buses), which represents 100 million cars (from 1 million today).

Building

  • Over 60 organizations and 22 countries launched an unprecedented Global Alliance for Buildings and Construction.

Private Finance

  • Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition: 20 investors, representing US$3.2 trillion, committing to decarbonization of US$600 billion in assets.
  • 106 banks, annually investing a total of 250 Billion USD, and dozens of investors, managing 4000 Bn USD of assets, have committed to a major increase in energy efficiency lending in their portfolios.
  • International cooperative and mutual insurance federation overshoot their pledge made in 2014 with more than 109 Billion of green investments made to date and a new 5-5-5 initiative to bring micro-insurance for 25 million vulnerable people in support to G7 pledge.

Short-Lived Climate Pollutants

  • Over 50 cities to reduce emissions from municipal solid waste
  • Sector to reduce HFCs by 30 -50% from refrigerant servicing within 10 years
  • Green Freight Action Plan to fight black carbon and fine particle pollutants

Energy

  • The Global Geothermal Alliance (GGA), launched today, is set to achieve a 500% increase in global installed capacity for geothermal power generation and a 200% increase for geothermal heating by 2030. The GGA is now a strong partnership of 36 countries and 23 institutions.
  • India launched the International Solar Alliance (ISA), which aims to align countries with the abundant solar potential to push the development of solar energy technologies. The Alliance has a prospective membership of over 120 countries.
  • The Africa Renewable Energy Initiative (AREI) announces plans to build at least 10 GW of new and additional renewable energy generation capacity by 2020 and 300 GW by 2020. 10 Billion USD by 2020 were pledged by supporting countries from G7, European Commission, Sweden.
  • More than 70 countries have agreed to phase out incandescent bulbs and promote the most efficient lighting technologies such as LED.

Cities & Subnational

  • Cities and regions from five continents representing almost one-fifth of the world’s population (38 partners) came together to launch a five-year vision (Action Plan) that will raise their action to respond to climate change and ensure sustainable future living environments for their people.

Business

  • 64 CEOs representing USD 1.9 trillion in annual revenue commit to integrate carbon pricing into corporate long-term strategies.
  • 450 CEOs from 65 countries across 30 sectors commit to set targets to drive climate action.
  • 115 companies from around the world commit to align their emissions reductions targets in line with below 2°C.
  • ACCIONA pledges to be carbon neutral by 2016, Philipps Lightning by 2020.

Innovation

  • Launched “Mission innovation”. This initiative of 20 countries, will dramatically accelerate global clean energy innovation, including doubling their current research and development (R&D) investments in the sector. The initiative is coupled with a private sector effort called the “Breakthrough Energy Coalition”, in which 28 investors from 10 countries, led by Bill Gates, to invest extraordinary levels of private capital in clean energy.

NAZCA HIGHLIGHTS

 Almost 11,000 examples of participation (cumulative) in LPAA initiatives, involving states and non-state actors from 180 countries.

  • 6,914 individual climate commitments on NAZCA platform: 2,255 cities, 150 regions, 2,025 companies, and 424 investors.
  • Cities and regions on NAZCA, represent about 26 billion people or 17 % of the global population.
  • 97 cities out of the top 300 global cities by GDP are engaged on NAZCA, with a total GDP close to $20 trillion.
  • One-hundred and eleven Global 500 companies with a collective $6.7 trillion market capitalization are making reduction pledges on NAZCA.
  • More than one-third (609) of the 2000 largest companies by Forbes 2000 (2014) across the globe are engaged on NAZCA.
  • These 609 companies represent aggregate revenue of $19.2 trillion, equivalent to the combined GDPs of China, Japan and Germany in 2014.
  • 385 public companies on NAZCA have total revenue of $2.86 trillion USD (revenue data from Bloomberg).
  • Hundreds of billions of USD redirected to climate: including portfolios of de-carbonization, divestment from fossil fuels, and pro-climate investments.
  • 25% of the world’s largest companies committing to address climate change.
  • About 15 % of all individual commitments include a carbon price.
  • 75 large multi-stakeholder cooperative initiatives for climate action worldwide, covering key impact areas:
    • resilience (11 initiatives),
    • less polluting transportation (11),
    • renewable development (9),
    • increasing energy efficiency (8),
    • forest protection (6),
    • subnational local action (6),
    • business and innovation (7),
    • agriculture (5),
    • financial mobilisation (5),
    • climate friendly building (3),
    • short term pollutants (4).

 

Examples of private financial sector announcements

  • The G7 announced that it would contribute finance to the G7 InsuResilience Initiative which focuses on regional risk management and insurance pools to provide access to insurance services for 400 million people over the next five years in the most vulnerable countries. So far, Germany has commited EUR 150 million.
  • Montreal Carbon Pledge: nearly 120 investors representing US$10 trillion committed to portfolio carbon footprinting.
  • Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition: 20 investors, representing US$3.2 trillion, committing to decarbonization of US$600 billion in assets.
  • CDC CEO, Pierre Rene Lamas: committed to decarbonising 55 billion euros by 20% by 2020; by 2016 CDC will have no shares in companies with over 20% stakes in coal and joined the Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition
  • The insurance industry, ICMIF, launched a new initiative on microfinance called “555” covering 5 million households, in 5 countries over 5 years.
  • Credit Agricole SA committed 2 billion euros into green bonds by 2017 and over the next 3 years, the bank will put 60 billion euros into new financing in climate change and double financing in renewable energy.
Tags:

Bilan du Plan d’Action Lima-Paris et de la Journée de l’Action

© Benjamin Géminel
© Benjamin Géminel

10 Déc Bilan du Plan d’Action Lima-Paris et de la Journée de l’Action

Le bilan de la Journée de l’Action et des 12 événements thématiques tenus du 1er au 8 décembre au cœur des négociations de la COP21 fait apparaître une mobilisation massive des acteurs non-étatiques en coopération avec les États :

  • Plus de 70 grandes initiatives coopératives qui regroupent près de 10 000 acteurs issus de 180 pays, venus présenter leurs actions.
  • Près de 11 000 engagements concrets au total sur la plateforme NAZCA : 2 250 villes, 150 régions, qui représentent 1,25 milliard d’habitants ; 2 025 entreprises, 424 investisseurs, 235 organisations société civile.
  • Plusieurs centaines de milliards de dollars réorientés climatpour investir dans la transition vers une économie bas carbone et résiliente.
  • Plus d’un tiers des 2000 plus grandes entreprises mondiales engagées pour le climat, leur poids économique équivaut aux PIB additionnés de la Chine, l’Allemagne et Japon.
  • Des milliers de dirigeants locaux, de chefs d’entreprises, de personnalités de la société civile sont venus à Paris témoigner de leur engagement et présenter leurs solutions et propositions.

Le Plan d’Action Lima-Paris : un processus inédit dans une COP qui constitue une part essentielle du résultat de Paris

Ce Plan d’Action est une initiative des gouvernements français et péruviens, du Secrétaire général des Nations unies et du Secrétariat de la Convention-cadre des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques. Il a pour objectif de développer les actions et les engagements des acteurs non étatiques – villes, régions, entreprises, investisseurs, organisations de la société civile – pour beaucoup en coopération avec les États, et qui contribueront à la réduction des émissions mondiales de gaz à effet de serre et à l’adaptation, avant 2020 et sur le long terme. Il rassemble, dans de grandes initiatives internationales, les acteurs clés qui s’engagent dans une transformation des grands domaines de l’économie.

L’objectif du LPAA, c’est d’amplifier mouvement global de l’action qui est en cours, à tous les niveaux, dans tous les secteurs d’activités, et dans toutes les régions du monde. Il démontre qu’il est possible d’engager des actions concrètes pour le climat avant même l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de Paris en 2020.

Le LPAA et toute la dynamique qui s’est constituée autour, sera un atout pour les pays dans la mise en œuvre de leurs contributions nationales volontaires : il constitue un réservoir de solutions concrètes, d’innovations technologiques, politiques et financières, et permettra de faire baisser de manière significative le coût des technologies bas-carbone. Il permettra de  réduire les émissions, d’améliorer l’efficacité énergétique, de construire des villes plus durables et de protéger les forêts pour dessiner les contours du monde de demain.

Les initiatives diverses par leur origine et leur portée témoignent d’un profond mouvement de transformation à l’œuvre qui ne pourra que s’amplifier après Paris.

 Tendances de la mobilisation et enseignements clés

 Les initiatives lancées lors du Sommet sur le climat du Secrétaire général des Nations unies à New York en 2014 tiennent leurs promesses : nombre d’entre elles sont plus robustes et mieux structurées un an plus tard, comme la déclaration de New York sur la forêt

  • Un engagement remarquable des villes et des territoires : plus de 7 000 collectivités ont pris des engagements opérationnels et ambitieux pour réduire leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre ;
  • De nombreuses initiatives sur l’efficacité énergétique comme principale source de réduction des émissions: appareils électriques, districts urbains, installations industrielles, transports et carburants…
  • La finance privée annonce des montants d’une ampleur inattendue dans une triple mouvement : mesure du poids carbone de ses portefeuilles ; investissement dans des projets pro-climat, retraits des investissements dans les combustibles fossiles
  • Mobilisation exceptionnelle de la communauté des acteurs de l’eau : à Paris, la gestion concertée de l’eau et la résilience des océans ont vu la mobilisation de centaines d’acteurs publics et privés (Pacte de Paris pour l’eau).

 Exemples d’annonces majeures

 Forêts

  • L’Allemagne, la Norvège et le Royaume-Uni ont annoncé un objectif commun de fournir plus de 5 milliards de dollars entre 2015 et 2020, si les pays forestiers démontrent une volonté de réduire leurs émissions de façon mesurée, notifiée et vérifiée.
  • La Colombie a annoncé à son tour un engagement de 300 millions de dollars avec ces mêmes pays en lançant le programme « Amazon Vision ».
  • Mondelez International s’est engagé à investir 400 millions de dollars dans les 10 prochaines années afin de soutenir la production de cacao durable avec un objectif de zéro déforestation nette en Afrique.

 Agriculture

  • « Initiative 4/1000 »- lancée à la COP21 par une centaine de partenaires, elle compte déjà plus de 1000 membres dont des États, des organisations internationales, des fondations privées, des fonds internationaux, des ONG et des organisations paysannes. Cette initiative vise à accroître le stockage de carbone dans les sols pour améliorer les rendements agricoles et réduire les émissions du secteur.

Résilience – Eau

  • Le Pacte de Paris sur l’eau et l’adaptation, a été signé par 303 participants de 87 pays. Réunissant des organisations, des gouvernements, des organismes de financement, des gouvernements locaux, des entreprises et la société civile – cela représente plus de 20 millions de dollars en assistance technique et plus d’1 milliard de dollars en financement.

Résilience – Adaptation

  • Lancement de systèmes d’alerte précoce pour plus de 50 pays les moins avancés et les petites îles (initiative CREWS)
  • Accès à l’assurance pour 400 millions de personnes vulnérables d’ici cinq ans
  • Des partenariats à hauteur de 150 millions de dollars pour mobiliser davantage de fonds pour l’Afrique et l’Asie
  • L’Union européenne mobilise 125 millions d’euros pour les pays touchés par le phénomène « El Niño »

Transport

  • 65 pays se sont engagés à améliorer l’efficacité des véhicules dans des pays en développement (qui comptent près de 3 milliards d’habitants : Indonésie, Égypte, Vietnam, Philippines, Maroc, Colombie, Union européenne, Émirats arabes unis, Mexique, Pakistan….)
  • « MobiliseYourCity »: des plans urbains de mobilité durable dans 100 villes à croissance rapide et près de 40 pays, avec près de 20 villes engagées et cinq millions d’euros pour injecter rapidement du financement dans le programme.
  • 50 partenaires se lancent dans le fret ferroviaire, un des contributeurs le plus important à la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.
  • Des pays, des collectivités et des entreprises se sont engagés à avoir 20% de véhicules électriques sur nos routes en 2030 (véhicules légers, deux-roues, vus), pour aller jusqu’à 100 millions de véhicules.

Bâtiment

  • Plus de 60 organisations et 22 pays ont lancé une Alliance mondiale sans précédent pour les bâtiments et la construction.

Finance privée

  • Large réorientation des investissements vers l’économie bas carbone
  • Coalition pour la décarbonation des portefeuilles : cette coalition qui réunit 20 investisseurs, représentant 3,2 trillions de dollars a largement dépassé ses objectifs et s’est engagé à décarboner plus de 600 milliards de dollars d’actifs.
  • 106 banques, qui investissent un total de 250 milliards de dollars, et une douzaine d’investisseurs (qui représentent plus de 4000 milliards de dollars) se sont engagés à augmenter leur portefeuille en efficacité énergétique.

 Polluants à courte durée de vie

  • Plus de 50 villes à réduire les émissions de déchets solides municipaux.
  • secteur à réduire les HFC de 30 -50% à partir de l’entretien frigorigène dans les 10 ans.
  • Plan d’action vert fret pour lutter contre le noir de carbone et les polluants de particules fines.

Énergie

  • L’Alliance mondiale pour la géothermie (GGA), a prévu d’atteindre une augmentation de 500% de la capacité mondiale installée de production d’énergie géothermique et une augmentation de 200% pour le chauffage géothermique d’ici 2030. Elle réunit 36 pays et 23 institutions.
  • L’Inde a lancé l’Alliance Solaire internationale, pour promouvoir la coopération sur l’énergie solaire entre les pays industrialisés et les pays en développement. Elle rassemble près de 120 pays, et vise à faire baisser les prix et pousser le développement des technologies de l’énergie solaire.
  • L’Initiative pour l’énergie renouvelable en Afrique, coalition de pays africains pour le développement les énergies renouvelables sur le continent a annoncé avoir mobilisé 10 GW de productions d’énergie renouvelable additionnels en 2020, et vise 300 GW d’ici 2020. 10 milliards de dollars d’ici 2020 ont été promis par des pays du G7, la Commission européenne, et la Suède.
  • Plus de 50 pays se sont accordés pour éliminer les ampoules à incandescence et promouvoir les technologies les plus efficaces comme le LED.

 Villes, collectivités et gouvernements locaux

  • Les villes et les régions des cinq continents représentant près d’un cinquième de la population mondiale (38 partenaires en tout) se sont réunis pour lancer un plan quinquennal (vision à cinq ans) qui permettra d’adresser le changement climatique et assurer un cadre de vie durables pour leur population.

Entreprises et secteur privé

  • 64 dirigeants représentant 1,9 milliards de dollars en revenus annuels s’engagent à intégrer la tarification du carbone dans leurs stratégies d’entreprise à long terme.
  • 450 dirigeants de 65 pays à travers 30 secteurs s’engagent à fixer des objectifs contraignants d’action pour le climat.
  • 115 entreprises du monde entier s’engagent à aligner leurs engagements de réduction des émissions en ligne avec l’objectif de maintenir 2 ° C.
  • ACCIONA s’est engagé à être neutre en carbone d’ici 2016, Philipps Lightning en 2020.

Innovation

  • Lancement de « Mission innovation ». 20 pays ont déjà rejoint cette initiative, et se sont publiquement engagés à doubler leur budget de R&D dans le domaine des technologies propres d’ici 202. L’initiative est couplée avec un effort du secteur privé appelé « Breakthrough Coalition » conduit par Bill Gates (qui rassemble 28 investisseurs de 10 pays), qui compte investir des capitaux privés dans l’énergie propre.

  Portail NAZCA : principaux chiffres

  • Près de 11 000 exemples de participations (en cumulatif) dans des initiatives du LPAA impliquant des États et des acteurs non étatiques de près de 180 pays.
  • 6 914 engagements individuels dans la plate-forme NAZCA: 2 255 villes, 150 régions, 2 025 entreprises, et 424 investisseurs.
  • Les villes et les régions sur NAZCA, représentent environ 1,26 milliards de personnes, soit 17 % de la population mondiale.
  • 97 villes sur les 300 plus grandes villes du monde sont engagés sur NAZCA, totalisant un PIB global de près de 20milliards de dollars.
  • 111 entreprises du top 500 (Global 500) des entreprises, représentant un total de 6,7 trillions de dollars de capitalisation boursière ont fait des promesses de réduction sur NAZCA.
  • Plus d’un tiers (609) des 2000 plus grandes entreprises du classement Forbes 2000 (2014) à travers le monde sont engagés sur NAZCA.
  • Ces 609 entreprises représentant un revenu global de  19,2 trillions de dollars, soit les PIB combinés de la Chine, du Japon et de l’Allemagne en 2014.
  • 385 entreprises publiques sur NAZCA ont un revenu total de 2,86 trillions de dollars (données Bloomberg).
  • Des centaines de milliards de dollars redirigés vers le climat: en comptant la décarbonation des portefeuilles, le désinvestissement des combustibles fossiles, et les investissements en faveur du climat.
  • 25% des plus grandes entreprises du monde s’engagent à lutter contre le changement climatique.
  • Environ 15% de tous les engagements individuels mentionnent le prix du carbone.
  • 75 grandes initiatives de coopération multi-acteurs dans des domaines clés :

o la résilience (11 initiatives),

o transport moins polluants (11),

o développement des énergies renouvelables (9),

o accroître l’efficacité énergétique (8),

o la protection de la forêt (6),

o action locale infranational (6),

o entreprises et l’innovation (7),

o l’agriculture (5),

o mobilisation financière (5),

o bâtiment respectueux du climat (3),

o polluants à court terme (4).

  

Exemples des annonces du secteur financier

  • Le G7 a annoncé qu’il contribuerait à l’Initiative G7 InsuResilience qui se concentre sur la gestion des risque régionaux et des fonds d’assurance pour fournir un accès aux services d’assurance pour 400 millions de personnes au cours des cinq prochaines années dans les pays les plus vulnérables. Jusqu’ici, l’Allemagne s’est engagé à mobiliser 150 millions d’euros.
  • Montréal Carbon Pledge: près de 120 investisseurs des États-Unis représentant 10 milliards de dollars se sont engagés à réaliser leur empreinte carbone.
  • Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition : 20 investisseurs, représentant 3,2 trillions de dollars se sont engagés à décarboner 600 milliards $ d’actifs.
  • Caisse des dépôts : le PDG Pierre René Lamas s’est engagé à la décarbonatation de 55 milliards d’euros de près de 20 % d’ici 2020; en 2016 la caisse des dépôts ne possédera plus d’actions dans les entreprises détenant plus de 20% des parts dans le charbon. Ils ont également rejoint le Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition.
  • Le secteur de l’assurance, de l’ICMIF, a lancé une nouvelle initiative sur la microfinance appelé « 555 » couvrant 5 millions de ménages, dans 5 pays sur 5 ans.
  • Crédit Agricole a engagé 2 milliards d’euros en obligations vertes en 2017 et au cours des 3 prochaines années, la banque va mettre
    60 milliards d’euros en nouveaux financements dans le changement climatique et doubler le financement des énergies renouvelables.

 

Tags: